top of page
Search
Writer's pictureTayven Auron Taylor

Final Reflection Blog


Throughout these past 10 weeks, I have fostered growth within myself that I would like to reflect on through moments included in this blog post. I have had a number of transformative learning experiences throughout this quarter; however, I would like to focus on two that had the most impact on my journey. The first moment that I would like to reflect on is when I worked on the podcast assignment. Through this exp


erience, I was able to improve my communication and leadership skills as I had to collaborate and support my groupmates. Prior to this experience, I dreaded group work as I hated to work with others and come up with a collective assignment. I would rather opt to work independently; however, after the experience, I do not dislike group work as much. I learned a lot about how I work and how to work with others through my experience. We had to divide work, help each other, and allot time for collective activities.


The second moment that I would like to reflect on is through annotating Disney films relating to gender roles and expectations. In the past, I never saw movies from a different viewpoint and was mainly focused on the entertainment aspects of films. I grew up watching Disney and never once thought of the gender roles and expectations that are featured in the films. Annotating these films helped me focus on the faults of these films. I was able to see so many aspects that I overlooked while initially watching these films. This experience helped me think more while watching films. This will help me in the future as I have strengthened my analytical skills.


Although I learned a lot in this class, I still have aspects that I would love to improve on. For instance, my time management skills were lackluster throughout the quarter. For the first few weeks, I would finish assignments early and would not have to stress at the last second rushing to finish my assignment before 11:59pm. I often procrastinate during this class. I think that this is an unproductive habit that can lead to undesirable outcomes.


Another aspect that I would like to improve on is my grammatical skills. Despite working on numerous grammar assignments throughout the past 10 weeks, I believe that I have a lot to improve on. In particular, I would like to improve on quotations. I often forget when to use italics or quotations. Overall, I think that I had a productive quarter full of growth and learning. I enjoyed my time in the class and hope that I can continue to improve my writing skills in 39B.


13 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 Comments


Hey Tayven! I'm glad that you are slowly changing your mind about being in a group. I'm the same way's at time but I feel like being in a group really improves one's communication skills. Time management has been quite for me too in this quarter as well but you got it, practice is key! I still need to improve on managing my time but I feel like these last weeks of this quarter has truly helped me understand how manage my classwork and job at the same time with being as efficient in both. I hope you have an amazing last quarter thats coming up and good luck on finals!

Like

Xiefeng Zheng
Xiefeng Zheng
Mar 15, 2021

Indeed, this Podcast Project also gave me a lot of experience in collaboration. At the same time, this is my first attempt to make a Podcast, which is really interesting. In the podcast you made a great summary at each stage. And the website made is also very good. At the same time, thank you for the interesting points you put forward in the Podcast Discussion, which made me learn a lot on this quarter topic.

Like

Ray Khan
Ray Khan
Mar 15, 2021

What’s up Tay! I’m glad that the podcast project and peer-reviewing allowed you to work on leadership skills. I’ve really improved my collaboration skills as well. The Connect grammar practice sessions were quite tricky, and I understand the desire to further improve in that aspect, as I’m working to do that too. Good work and I hope to see you soon!

Like
bottom of page