top of page
Search
Writer's pictureTayven Auron Taylor

My Three Sources

Source #1


My first source is a podcast titled Deconstructing Disney - Sleeping Beauty by Erin and Rachel. This podcast, published on October 6th 2020, summarized and analyzed the Disney film––Sleeping Beauty while questioning if "a film with a female protagonist who sleeps more than anything else be considered 'feminist'?" (Erin and Rachel). The speakers speak about various aspects of gender roles, conversing about consent, beauty, attractiveness, and femininity. I hope to make use of their examples in the podcast my group and I will be producing. I will use their arguments to strengthen my own and build upon their ideas.


Source #2


My second source is a presentation by Jean Kilbourne: Killing us softly 4. Jean Kilbourne speaks

about the subconscious messaging found in advertisement and its effects on social constructs. Kilbourne argues that brands set the standard of beauty and that they poke at the insecurities of consumers to sell their products. I intend to use Killing us Softly 4 to support my claim about Disney's influence on social constructs about gender. Due to Disney's worldwide fame, Disney's influence is inescapable. Their characters impact social constructs about gender expectations, femininity, beauty, and much more.


Source #3


My third source is a film review The Telegraph titled 'Sexist' Sleeping Beauty and all the other fairy tales that may need updating for a new generation. This article documents the extensive history of Disney and sexism in films. The article compares Disney's sexist history with current social norms and analyzes several films including an abundance of examples. I will use this article to help support my arguments regarding gender roles in Disney. I will be able to reference examples used in the article in my podcast.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page