top of page
Search
Writer's pictureTayven Auron Taylor

Habits of Mind

The 8 habits of mind were developed by a group of professors for being the most impactful habits responsible for student success; however, these habits can apply to your life outside of school and help you achieve success in various other aspects of your life.


Curiosity


I have used curiosity a number of times in this course. Curiosity helps me make annotations and think deeper about the topics that I am learning. I use curiosity to connect with text.


Openness


In this course, I have had to be open to new ideas. When I read, I must be able to set aside my own personal bias to better understand the topic from an objective perspective. I also must be open to feedback. Each week my text is analyzed and people reply to my posts. I must be able to accept their feedback and use it to grow. I have attached a photo showing the feedback I have received from my peers.


Engagement


I have engaged with the course materials frequently throughout the span of this course in order to ensure improvement. I have also had to engage with other students. I have had to read their work and analyze their strengths and weaknesses during discussion posts.


Creativity


In week 1, we had an assignment in which we would describe ourselves in 6 words. This assignment gave us creative freedom as we were able to talk about our interests and set up our presentation in any way that we would like.


Persistence


I would say that the connect assignments have helped me develop persistence. From time to time I would struggle to grasp new concepts and I would be forced to sit and absorb the knowledge. In the end, I always end up learning from my mistakes and improve.


Flexibility


As of now, I cannot think of when I had to be flexible in this class. I am unsure exactly how/when I will be able to demonstrate this habit, but I hope that if given the opportunity, I am able to strengthen the it.


Responsibility


I am responsible for my work each and every week. I must adhere to the requirements and be thoughtful and thorough as I strive to receive extra points on my assignments. I have learned to better manage my time in order to manage the workload of the class.


Metacognition (reflection)


Every week, I must reflect on my work and my accomplishments. I must monitor my growth and make sure that I am able to recognize the areas that need extra work. I must analyze my methods of learning to better understand myself as a student so that I can continue to learn.

9 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


lgcarri1
Feb 01, 2021

Hello Tayven, I enjoyed reading how you use each habit in the spam of this course. When reading about what you had to say about engagement, it made me think how useful it is to analyze the strengths and weaknesses of our peers because not only it benefits them but it also helps us. When identifying other peoples, it helps us take a look at things from a different perspective.

Like

Yi Jiang
Yi Jiang
Feb 01, 2021

I agree with you that in this class that we all have to work hard and it takes a lot of time for us to have concept on our writing, so it takes patience, we need to have persistence and sit for a long time to finish these work, and for that the assignment that we are assigned are very interesting and give us a new perspectives on things it help us to develop new idea and train our persistence. I also like your font.

Like
bottom of page