top of page
Search
Writer's pictureTayven Auron Taylor

Hello World


Hello everyone! My name is Tayven Taylor, 'Tay' for short. I am a first-year computer science major here at UCI. I was born and raised in Michigan; however, I am also a South African citizen. If you would like to know a little more about me, click here :). The most recent writing class that I partook in was a 'Modern Literature' course during my senior year of high school. I learned about poetry from studying the works of Clint Smith. While learning poetry, I learned how to recognize symbolism and explore the deeper meaning that the author hides behind text. This helped improve my writing and analyzing skills; however, I still think that I have lots of room for improvement. As of now, I would like to improve my diction and flow. I feel as though my work can be lackluster and hard to read at times. Additionally, I would like to learn how to thoroughly elaborate on a topic instead of redundantly restating the main points of my work. Although there is a lot that I can improve on, I would like to say that I am an average writer. I think that my biggest strength would be outlining essays and consolidating my points. Moreover, throughout this course, my writing will improve and I will be able to see my progress through the blogs and assignments that I will be completing on a weekly basis. I will also see improvement on my reading and grammatical analysis due to the various Connect assignment that I will have to complete. I received an 82 out of 100 on the grammar diagnostic that was supposed to assess my current level. Although that was not the score that I was hoping for, I believe that I can easily improve my score with more practice. The majority of my errors stemmed from quotations and citations, so if I can improve on that I believe I can get a more desirable score. I am looking forward to seeing how I grow as a writer in this class! I intend to give this course my all and strive to achieve a high grade in the class. However, this is impossible without abiding by the grade contract found in the syllabus. In the grade contract, I am to complete seven criteria in order to receive a B in the class. Some of which includes: participation, completing work on time, proofreading, and more. Additionally, I must work closely with the syllabus. The syllabus establishes how to do well in 39A. Which advises students to make sure that they put in effort and invest time into assignments, get help when needed, stay curious, and not procrastinate. Although this advice is straight forward, it is easier said than done. I will have to work hard to see the results that I desire.


44 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


tianaig
Feb 01, 2021

Hi Tayven

I read your post and agreed that the flow was also a problem in my writing. This is also what I should work on. Plus, I like your title very much! It's attractive and tells the content of this post: the start.

Tianai

Like

Hello Tayven,

Your link to your Me in 6 words presentation was a great idea. It is very impressive that you graduated early and lived in Japan for some time.

Like

yuzhenl2
Jan 17, 2021

Hi Tayven!

Your style is really cool. I like it! From your post, I think that we all got some problem in Grammar diagnostic. The first way to solve is to look for our mistake and remember it. And we review our mistakes in later time.

Like

2698842262
Jan 16, 2021

Hi Tayven!

I really like this style of calligraphy that you choose to use for this (your) website! And referring to what you wrote about the very beginning of this blog, "I was born and raised in Michigan; however, I am also a South African citizen," would that means dual nationality? (Hoping this question would not be considered as offensive since that's really not my intention.) Have a nice weekend and a nice quarter!

Like
bottom of page